psych0omantis

Insanity Is In The Eye Of The Beholder

Diary of an Insomniac 10/24/12

Another successful trip into bed before 3 am. It’s strange, I’m actually starting to look forward to going to sleep because of these blog posts. Its giving me the consistency to keep up with this blog that I have been so nonchalant with. Maybe it’ll help me get the readership I’ve been craving for.

So I’m hoping in the not so distant future I get some kind of job consulting people. I don’t know what it is about me but people seem to flock to me with their problems. And quite frankly I enjoy listening and offering my advice. There’s something noteworthy of being trusted with someones issues who is displeased. There is a level of respect that I appreciate.

Anyhow, tonights post is about the retail environment. I really hate these unrealistic expectations stores and managers have for some of its employees. First point that needs to be made is that its highly likely 90% of the staff will not stay longer than 6 months. Why? One, because there isn’t realistic opportunities for growth. And two, the retail selling world honestly only satisfies students and recent graduates income wise. The money simply isn’t there. It is a part time job at best for pocket cash. In no way shape or form should it be considered a career.

That said it needs to be treated with less priority. Students and young adults need to use their time effectively and simply can’t dedicate all their time to a useless cause. Obviously this isn’t true for all situations but we’re talking about the majority here.

What I’m getting at is people need to realize there are more important things out there when this is your job. Jobs should only be emphasized with so much sacrifice and importance when it’s your career, not some side job. I’m really getting tired of seeing people getting rejected for time off to see their friends and families because “it doesn’t meet the needs of the business” or “doesn’t look good for the company”. What separates us from beuqacratic computers are our ability to reason and utilize emotion and empathy. It really doesn’t take a genius to realize the importance of friends and family, especially at a young age. Open your eyes. Life goes on. Just because this is your career doesn’t mean you have to take it out on those who have more potential.

20121024-022833.jpg

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 24, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
